ICC World Cup 2015 – A Brief Introduction Of The Participating Teams



Cricket is one of the most popular sports and is followed religiously by millions of people around the globe. That is why it is not surprising that the upcoming Cricket World Cup, to be organized in the first quarter of 2015, is generating so much excitement amongst fans and followers.

Apart from the game itself, the participating teams are also creating a buzz in the market. We are sharing with you below the brief details of the various teams participating in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

All in Alphabetical orders:



  • Afghanistan: The team from Afghanistan will be making its debut in the world championship in 2015. The team was selected for participation in ICC World Cup after it defeated Kenya to become the runner up in Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Championship, in October 2013.



  • Australia: Ranked at no 4 in the ICC ODI world ranking, the Australian team has been participating in the World Cup since its initiation. The team also holds the honor of winning the title 4 times, which is greater than any other team. Australia will be co-hosting the championship in 2015.





  • Bangladesh: Ranked at no 8 in the ICC ODI world rating, the Bangladeshi team put up a great performance during its debut in 1999. Although the team did not perform well in the next World cup, its performance has been consistently improving during the last two championships.


england 1

  • England: Ranked at no 1 in the ICC ODI world ranking, the team of England is amongst the oldest teams to participate in the world cup. Despite its long participation, the team has not won the World Cup title although it did emerge as the runner up in 1979, 1987 and 1992.





  • India: Ranked at no 3, India created a history of sorts by winning the title during the third championship itself. However, the team had to wait for almost three decades before it earned the honor once again in 2011 after beating co-hosts Sri Lanka in a thrilling match.





  • Ireland: Ireland is still quite new in the world cricket championship arena as it will only be attending its third championship in 2015. The team put up an impressive performance during its previous two stints, by defeating well established teams such as Pakistan and England.




New zealand

  • New Zealand: Having an ICC ODI world ranking of no 9, the team of New Zealand is considered on the strong teams in the championship. Despite having a great lineup of players, the team has still to reach finals of the championships. The World Cup will be held partially in New Zealand in 2015.





  • Pakistan: In the ICC ODI world rankings the Pakistani team stands at no 6. The team has won the title once in 1992, when the championship was co-hosted by Australia and New-Zealand for the first time. The team is hoping to repeat history in 2015, even though it failed to qualify past the group stage in the last two events.







  • Scotland: This will be only the third appearance of the Scottish team in the ICC world Cup, even though the tam made its debut in 1999. In 2014, the team of Scotland finished at the top of the Super Six table in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in New Zealand, which helped it qualify for the World Cup.



South Africa


  • South Africa: South Africa enjoys the no 2 position in the ICC ODI world rankings even though it has yet to win the title. The team will be hoping to change this truth in the upcoming tournament, especially since it has reached the knock-out stage in all the previous events except the one held in 2003.



Sri Lanka


  • Sri Lanka: The ICC ODI world ranking of the Sri Lankan team is no 5 and the team is one of the oldest participants of the championship. Sri Lanka won the title once in 1996 after defeating Australia, but has been unable to repeat the feat until now.



United Arab


  • United Arab Emirates: The team of United Arab Emirates will be making its debut appearance in the World Cup 2015. The team qualified for the championship after finishing second in the Super Six stage of the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier held in New Zealand in 2014.



west indies

  • West Indies: The West Indian team, which is ranked at no 7 in the ICC ODI world rankings, is the only other team besides Australia to have won the world cup back to back two times in a row. However, after having performed the feat in 1975 and 1979, the team has not won the title again till now.





  • Zimbabwe: In the ICC ODI world rankings, the team from Zimbabwe ranks at no 10 and has still not be able to progress to the knock out stage. The team did reach the final Super 6 in 1999 and 2003 and hopes to proceed beyond that stage in 2015.